36th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament to start from Oct 10: Varinder Sharma

Jalandhar, September 20, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

India’s prestigious 36th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament will be played at the Olympian Surjit Singh Hockey Stadium from October 10 to 19.

Presiding over a meeting of Surjit Hockey Society, Deputy Commissioner Mr Varinder Kumar Sharma, who is also president of the society said that the tournament is organized every year by society.

He said that Indian Oil Corporation Limited will be the main title sponsor of the tournament.

DC further informed that the 16 teams including Punjab National Bank, Indian Navy Mumbai, Army XI, Bharat Petroleum, Oil & Natural Gas Commission (ONGC), Dehradun, Indian Air Force, Delhi, Punjab and Sind Bank, Indian Railways, Delhi, Punjab Police, Air India, Mumbai & Indian Oil, Mumbai, Namdhari, RCF Kapurthala, BSF, CRPF Delhi and CAG Delhi will take part.

He added that the champion of men section will get a Cash Award of Rs. 5.50 Lakhs while Runners’ up will be awarded a cash award of Rs. 2.51 lakhs.

He said that this year, Surjit Hockey Society has also decided to give Alto Car along with other prizes like Motor Cycles, TV, Refrigerators, etc. to the spectators, who will come to witness the Surjit Hockey matches through draw system.

He said that Surjit Hockey Society was playing a vanguard role for grooming the young players and told that this society has produced several players who have proved their mettle in national and international events.

The Deputy Commissioner further said that society was further making every effort to channelize the unbounded energy of youth in a positive manner especially in the field of sports. Mr Sharma said that society has laid the foundation of a great movement aimed at the revival of the national game by imparting world-class training to youth.

He said to commemorate 550th Parkash Purab of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the Hockey society will distribute 550 Hockey Kits among the young players.

Prominent among present on the occasion included DCP Mr Amrik Singh Powar, Mr. Lakhwinder Pal Singh Khaira Mr LR Nayyar, Mr Surinder Singh Bhapa, Captain Inderjeet Singh Dhami, Mr NK Aggarwal, Mr KS Mathru, Mr Gurinder Singh Sangha, Mr Gurpreet Singh, Mr SS Jolly and Mr NP Singh.

Share News / Article

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES