Western Rail Link to Heathrow on Parliamentary Agenda: Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi

London, November 18, 2020 (Yes Punjab News)
A cross party group of MPs and Lords met this week to press for the long awaited construction of the Western Rail Link to Heathrow. Led by Tan Dhesi MP (Slough) and Laura Farris MP (Newbury) the group highlighted the economic and environmental benefits of the project and called for the Government to work with Heathrow Airport and Network Rail to ensure the project is delivered by the end of the decade.

The WRLtH is a four mile stretch of rail track linking Slough and Heathrow, which is not only the number one infrastructure priority in the Thames Valley region, but would ensure that 20% of the UK population – from Wales, the West and the South – would be within one interchange of Britain’s main airport.

Passengers would see journey times between Slough and Heathrow reduce to 6 minutes and those travelling from Reading could be into the airport in just 26 minutes. It would give the economy a projected £800 million boost, while removing the need for passengers travelling from the West to go first into London Paddington, making it a practical alternative to road travel; thereby easing congestion and reducing emissions.

If built, this rail link would deliver huge environmental, economic and practical benefits to local constituents and the wider country.

Tan Dhesi MP said: “I’m delighted the Western Rail Link to Heathrow APPG met and pleased to see such excellent cross party support for this transformative project. Improving connectivity for my Slough constituents has been a priority of mine and I hope to see much more progress over the coming months to ensure the economic and environmental benefits of this scheme are realised.”

Those who attended the meeting included Tan Dhesi MP (Co-Chair), Laura Farris MP (Co-Chair), Christina Rees MP (Secretary), Seema Malhotra MP (Treasurer), Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Vice Chair), Lord Andrew Adonis (Vice Chair), Lord William Bradshaw, Lord Dennis Tunnicliffe, Wera Hobhouse MP, Kerry McCarthy MP, Chris Evans MP, Ben Bradshaw MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, James Sunderland MP, Office of David Johnston MP, Anna Holbrook.