Tuesday, July 27, 2021
400 July

Pension 1500 gif

Shaheed 50 lakh gif

Kisan Karza 5.64 lakh gif

Kisan 48 hours gif

Ashirwad 51000 gif

Markfed New Gif

Innocent Admission

Veteran journalist Ajay Kumar Singh appointed Press Secretary to President Kovind

- Advertisement -

New Delhi, Sep 17, 2019 –

Veteran journalist Ajay Kumar Singh has been appointed as Press Secretary to the President of India.

A statement from the Ministry of Personnel said that Singh was being appointed the Press Secretary on “contract basis”, initially for a period of one year or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

The decision was taken after the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved his name for the post.

Singh is Editorial Director of Governance Now. Joined Governance Now as as Managing Editor in January 2014, he has close to 30 years of experience in print and electronic journalism with some of the leading media houses of the country.

At Governance Now, he was in charge of the English as well as Marathi editions.

Singh started his career with Times of India in 1985 from Lucknow. He has worked in ET and Telegraph. He joined the Pioneer in Delhi, and has also worked in Business Standard, Star News and NewsX.

He left as Editor of Governance Now for a brief while to join Firstpost as Executive Editor. However, he went back to Governance Now as Editorial Director.

He takes over from veteran journalist Ashok Malik, whose two year term came to an end last month.

Before Malik, it was IFS officer Venu Rajamony who was the Press Secretary to then President Pranab Mukherjee.

Before Rajamony, it was Indian Information Service A (IIS) officer Archana Datta and S.M. Khan, also an IIS officer. T.P. Seetharam, an IFS officer, held the post from December 1997- July 2000.

Ranjit Rae, also an IFS officer, held the charge from 1995-99. Present External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, an IFS officer, was Press Secretary and speechwriter for President Shankar Dayal Sharma from January 1994-November 1995.

Pawan K. Varma, also an IFS officer, who is currently adviser to Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, held the post between March 1992 and May 1993.

R.K. Bhatnagar held the post between 1991-92, and before that it was K Suryanarayana from March 1983 to August 1991. Earlier it was Abdul Hamid between June 1962 to March 1980, holding the post for the longest term of 18 years. R.L. Handa was the second Press Secretary, holding the post for 10 years between September 1952 to June 1962.

The first Press Secretary was Balkrishna, who was press attache from January 1950 to August 1952.  (Agency)

- Advertisement -

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES

Punjab News

Sikh News

Transfers, Postings, Promotions

- Advertisement -spot_img

Stay Connected






Attack on Chinese in Pakistan

Who is behind the attack on Chinese in Pakistan – by Amjad Ayub Mirza

The deadly attack, carried out on July 15, on a coach carrying Chinese engineers to an under-construction tunnel site at the 4300 MW Dasu...

Coexistence, a unifying factor for Indians – by Asad Mirza

For most political parties, sociologists and psephologists what a common Indian on the street thinks matters most. It is an insight into a common...
Taliban Afghanistan

Taliban’s Next Stop: Kabul, Kashmir and Kerala – by Amjad Ayub Mirza

The speedy advance of the Taliban from northern Afghanistan to Kabul in the eastern section of the country could not have been achieved without...


Health & Fitness


Breastfeeding results in a healthier mother-child duo

New Delhi, July 27, 2021- According to the World Health Organisation, breastfeeding is one of the most effective ways to ensure child health and survival. However, nearly two out of three infants are not exclusively breastfed for the recommended 6 months -- a rate that has not improved in 2 decades. Shelly Singh, Senior Consultant at Rosewalk Hospital, shares why...

Gadgets & Tech

error: Content is protected !!