Sunny Deol, Kirron Kher do the honours at Joshi Foundation Media Awards Punjab 2018 in Chandigarh

Chandigarh, Oct 22, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

Under the first edition of Joshi Foundation Media Awards journalists with outstanding contribution in field of journalism in Punjab were conferred awards today for the year 2018.

Sh. VP Prabhakar, veteran journalist, was conferred with the lifetime achievement award carrying Rs 51000 cash prize and citation at star studded event that saw the doyens in field of journalism passing on the baton of achievements to the winners. Awards carrying Rs 21000 cash and citations were given to Prof PP Singh (posthumously) for Outstanding Contribution in Journalism Education.

Award for Outstanding Reporting in affairs related to Governance, Civil Matters and Polity was conferred to Sh. Karamjit Chilla. Outstanding Investigative Reporting award was jointly bagged by Sh. Rajinder Taggar and Neeraj Bali.

The award for Outstanding Reporting in the field of Education was conferred to Sh. Sanjeev Bariana, while Outstanding Report in Health Care was given to Sh. Ashwani Chawla. The Outstanding Sports Coverage award was given to Sh. Waris Malik and Outstanding Reporting award for reporting on Agrarian issues went to Sh. Kulwinder Sandhu.

Outstanding Reporting on raising Environmental issues award was given to Jyoti Magan Mahajan and Outstanding Reporting on Gender Sensitization issued went to Sh Mohit Malhotra. Also Outstanding Positive News award went to Sh Mohit Singla. Award for Outstanding Video Journalism was given to Sh Sandeep Kumar.

Meanwhile, Smt Raakhi Jagga has been conferred with the Journalist of the Year Award. All the other awardees had applied for the awards while journalist Sh Sanjeev Bariana and Smt Raakhi Jagga have been nominated by the jury for the awards.

Speaking at the event, the MP Sunny Deol stated that the fourth pillar of democracy, media will always continue to be the opinion makers in its print, electronic and social media avatar. MP Smt Kirron Kher congratulated Joshi Foundation for starting such awards at state level to encourage and appreciate the efforts of media in laying bare truth thread by thread.

Guests of the Honour including Sh Vijay Sampla Former Union Minister, Sh Harpal Cheema Leader of Opposition Punjab Vidhan Sabha, Sh Raveen Thukral Media Advisor CM Punjab, Sh Anupam Gupta Director GBP group, Vineet Joshi Chairman Joshi Foundation and Saurabh Joshi President, Joshi Foundation were also present.

The tough job of deciding winners was conducted by distinguished jury of media stalwarts. Jury Members including Vipin Pubby, former Resident Editor, Indian Express; Prof. B.K.Kuthiala, former Vice Chancellor, Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism & Communication, Bhopal; Naresh Kaushal, former Editor, Dainik Tribune, Sardar S.S. Tej, former Editor, Punjabi Tribune; Ashok Malik, National President, National Union of Journalists (India); Ajay Shukla Chief Editor, ITV Group; Baljit Balli, Chief Editor; Nanki Hans, Former President Chandigarh Press Club, BS Rawat President Chandigarh press club; Member of Press Council of India Balwinder Jammu and Rajnish Katyal, Former Chief Photographer, Hindustan Times decided the awards.

The other members of the jury are Prabhjot Singh, Editor, PTC News; Ritesh Lakhi, Senior Editor at News18 Punjab; Dr. Manmohan, Sahitya Academy Award winner; Khushal Lali, Senior Broadcaster, BBC Punjabi; and, Prof.(Dr.) K.K. Rattu, former Deputy Director General, IBS (Indian Broadcasting Services), Govt. of India, Swadesh Talwar, former Chief Photo Editor, Indian Express and Karam Singh, former Chief Photographer, The Tribune.