SSP Alka Meena reiterates commitment to maintain peace as SBS Nagar Police observes Police Commemoration Day

Nawanshahr, October 21, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

SBS Nagar Police led by SSP, Alka Meena, today, observed Police Commemoration Day Parade, here at ITI grounds to pay rich tributes to the martyrs of Police and Para Military Forces.

“As many as 28 Police Jawans and Officials of Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar district had contributed towards restoring peace, harmony, law and order in the state by sacrificing their lives while fighting against militancy”, said the SSP, Alka Meena while adding that during that period, a total of 1785 Police Personnels and 262 of their family members sacrificed their lives to face the anti-national forces braveheartly.

She said that the Police Commemoration Day was observed to assure the dependents of the martyrs that the Police Department and the Society would always remain indebted to the sacrifices made by the police martyrs. The SSP also heard the grievances of the dependents of the police martyrs and asked the concerned officials to solve their problems on priority basis.

Narrating the historical importance of Police Commemoration Day Parade, SSP said that the Police Commemoration Day Prade was observed by the police of all the states and the Para military forces throughout the country to pay tributes to the jawans of CRPF, who attained martyrdom on October 21, 1959 at Hot Springs (Laddakh) during an assault by the Chinese Army.

She also reiterated to maintain the hard earned peace in the state as well as unity and integration of the country.

Superintendent of Police (Headquarters) Balwinder Singh Bhikhi read out the name of 292 officials and Jawans of police and para military forces who laid down their lives during the past one year.

Prominent amongst others who paid floral tributes to the police martyrs included Deputy Commissioner Vinay Bublani, Additional District Judge Randhir Verma, Yukti Goyal Civil Judge (Senior Division), Raman Sharma CJM, SDM Banga Gautam Jain, SP (D) Wazir Singh Khaira, SP (PBI) Manvinder Singh, DSPs Harneel Singh, Harjeet Singh, Raj Kumar, GoG Head Col.

Chuhar Singh, DEO Harcharan Singh, retired police officers and the members of the families of police martyrs hailing from the district were present there to salute the great heroes of the nation.

A contingent of police led by DSP, Ms Deepika Singh, gave salute to the martyrs and officials and dignitaries present on the occasion observed silence to pay tributes to the martyrs.

The families of the police martyrs Inspector Harjit Singh, SI Giyan Chand, SI Hardyal Singh, SI Prem Chand, ASI Avtar Singh, ASI Ram Sarup, ASI Parkash Chand, HC Karam Chand, HC Parveen Kumar, HC Baldev Singh, Constable Jaspal Singh, C-2 Husan Lal, Constables Jasvir Singh, Kewal Singh, Kewal Krishan, Jagdish Singh, Sada Ram, Roshan Lal, Paramjit Singh, Gurdawar Ram and Ramji Dass, Punjab Homeguard Jawans Ajit Singh, Sushil Kumar, Avtar Singh, Dhyan Singh, Dilbagh Singh and Amarjit Singh were honoured on the occasion.

Share News / Article

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES