SAD demands immediate disqualification of Sukhpal Khaira and three other AAP MLAs

Chandigarh, October 22, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) today demanded the immediate disqualification of Sukhpal Singh Khaira and three other AAP legislators for leaving their parent party and forming new political formations besides joining the Congress party.

In a statement here, former minister Dr Daljit Singh Cheema said the attempt by Sukhpal Khaira to backtrack from his resignation by approaching the Vidhan Sabha Speaker amounted to playing a fraud upon the constitution.

“As per the constitution all these AAP legislators are liable to be disqualified for violating The Representation of Peoples Act for resigning from the primary membership of AAP. They cannot escape disqualification by initiating any drama of taking back their resignations”.

Stating that the Congress government now wanted to run away from facing more by-elections, Dr Cheema said “this is why Sukhpal Khaira trooped to the Vidhan Sabha Speaker’s office to take back his resignation even as Baldev Singh announced he was rejoining AAP.

This script, like the earlier resignations, has also been dictated by the Congress party and proves our contention that the AAP legislators were working as Congress agents and are part of the Congres party’s B team”.

He also asked the Congress party to disclose the give and take with the AAP legislators, saying this ‘unholy alliance’ was proving costly to the State exchequer with the MLAs’ drawing salaries and enjoying various facilities, including staff and security personnel, entitled only to legislators.

Giving further details, Dr Cheema said Sukhpal Khaira and Baldev Singh had not only left AAP but had also formed a new party by the name of Punjab Ekta Party (PEP) and even contested the parliamentary polls on the new symbol. He said Nazar Singh Mashaiya and Aamrjit Singh Sandoa had resigned from AAP and joined the Congress party.

Dr Cheema said the tenth schedule of the constitution was very clear on what constituted disqualification. He said as per the schedule “a member of a House belonging to any political party shall be disqualified for being a member of the House if he has voluntarily given up his membership of such a political party”. He said since all four mlas had resigned as primary members of AAP, the constitutional provision had being subverted.

The SAD leader said three legislators – Sukhpal Singh Khaira representing Bholath assembly segment, Nazar Singh Manshahia from Mansa and Master Baldev Singh from Jaito had resigned from AAP seven months back in January 2019 while Amarjit Singh Sandoa had resigned in May 2019.

He said the delay in taking action was a cruel joke on the electorate of the four constituencies and demanded that all the four seats be declared vacant immediately.

Dr Cheema also stated that there could not be two sets of rules on the same issue while citing the example of Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh who had disqualified 17 mlas and debarred them from contesting elections for the remainder of the current term of the State Assembly for switching parties.

He said the Congress party had lauded the decision of the Karnataka Speaker who was also a Congressman. He said recently the Haryana Assembly Speaker Krishan Pal Gujjar had also disqualified five legislators for switching their loyalties from their parent party.

Share News / Article

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES