Jalandhar DC felicitates 250 eminent officers, officials for smooth conduct of LS polls and I-Day function

Jalandhar, September 6, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

Deputy Commissioner Jalandhar Mr. Varinder Kumar Sharma today felicitated around 250 eminent officers/ officials for smooth conduct of general elections and State level function to mark Independence Day.

In a simple but impressive function, the Deputy Commissioner honored around 125 officers/ officials for performing their duty diligently during the Lok Sabha polls. Likewise, he handed over certificates of appreciation to same number of officers/ officials for their contribution in making the state level Independence Day function a huge success.

In his address, the Deputy Commissioner lauded the strenuous efforts made by the officers/ officials for making both these events a huge success. He said that holding the general elections in a free, fair and impartial manner was a herculean task but due to concerted efforts of the entire administration it was completed peacefully. Mr. Sharma said this process played a vital role in strengthening the democratic process in the country.

The Deputy Commissioner further said that the district administration also achieved a milestone by successfully holding the state level function to mark Independence Day. He said that during the function, which was presided over by the Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, various departments worked hard to make it a huge success. Mr. Sharma said that due to hard work of all the departments the function was highly appreciated by one and all. The Deputy Commissioner expressed hope that the administration would continue its successful endeavors in future also.

Earlier, the Additional Deputy Commissioner welcomed the Deputy Commissioner and other dignitaries to the function.

On the occasion, the Deputy Commissioner also bestowed ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award to Lieutenant Colonel Manmohan Singh, for his valuable cooperation in all the efforts of the administration.

Prominent amongst others present on the occasion included Additional Deputy Commissioner Mr. Jasbir Singh, Sub Divisional Magistrate Dr. Chaurmita, Secretary RTA Dr. Nayan Jassal, District Education Officers Mr. Rampal Saini and Mr. Harinder Pal Singh, District Program Officer Mr. AS Bhullar, District Food and Supply Controller Mr. Narinder Singh and others.

Share News / Article

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES