Monday, September 25, 2023



Filing of Nominations for 13 Punjab seats start Monday April 22: CEO Karuna Raju

- Advertisement -

Chandigarh, April 21, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

The Election Commission of India has announced the election schedule for General elections to House of the People on March 10, 2019.

Disclosing this here today Chief Electoral officer Punjab Dr. S Karuna Raju said that as per schedule announced the filing of nomination papers for the upcoming Lok Sabha 2019 elections would start with issuance of notification on April 22, 2019, and would continue till April 29, 2019. The scrutiny of the nominations would be done on April 30, 2019, and the last date of withdrawal of candidature would be May 2, 2019.

The nominations for the upcoming elections would be filed in the office of respective returning officers situated in District Administrative Complex from 11 am to 3 pm from April 22-29, 2019, excluding April 27 (Saturday) and April 28 (Sunday).

He further said that nomination papers are to be filed with the Deputy Commissioner Gurdaspur-cum- returning officer for 01-Gurdaspur, Deputy Commissioner Amritsar-cum- returning officer for 02-Amritsar, Deputy Commissioner Tarn Taran-cum- returning officer for 03-K Sahib, Deputy Commissioner Jalandhar-cum- returning officer for 04-Jalandhar (SC),Deputy Commissioner Hoshiarpur-cum- returning officer for 05- Hoshiarpur (SC), Deputy Commissioner Rupnagar-cum- returning officer for 06-Anandpur Sahib, Deputy Commissioner Ludhiana-cum- returning officer for 07-Ludhiana, Deputy Commissioner Fatehgarh-cum- returning officer Sahib for 08-Fatehgarh Sahib (SC), Deputy Commissioner Faridkot-cum- returning officer for 09-Faridkot (SC), Deputy Commissioner Firozepur-cum- returning officer for 10-Firozepur , Deputy Commissioner Bathinda-cum- returning officer for 11- Bathinda, Deputy Commissioner Sangrur-cum- returning officer for 12-Sangrur and Deputy Commissioner Patiala-cum- returning officer for 13-Patiala Parliamentary Constituencies, who are Returning Officers for these Constituencies, between hours of 11.00 AM and 03.00 PM on any of the notified days other than a public holiday from 22nd April, 2019 to 29th April, 2019.

He said that the nominations papers are to be filed in FORM 2A. Blank forms are available with the respective Returning Officer-cum-District Election Officer. Typed nomination papers will also be accepted provided they are in the prescribed format.

Dr. Raju said that in order to qualify for a Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) seat, a candidate should be registered as an elector for any Parliamentary Constituency. To satisfy the concerned Returning Officer on this point, candidates should produce a certified copy of the relevant entry of the electoral roll in force.

A certificate is also required to make and subscribe to an oath or affirmation in the prescribed form before the concerned Returning Officer or any other person is authorized by the Election Commission of India. The oath / affirmation should be taken/made by a candidate after his nomination before the date fixed for the scrutiny of nominations

CEO said that 27th April, 2019 being 4th Saturday is a holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881; Therefore, nomination papers cannot be presented to the Returning Officer on that day. 28th April, 2019 being Sunday is a holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881; Therefore, nomination papers cannot be presented to the Returning Officer on that day.

Model Code of Conduct has come into force in the State from the date of the announcement of elections (10th March, 2019) by the Election Commission of India and shall remain in force till the completion of the election process.

He further said that there are total 20374375 registered voters in the state for these elections, out of which 10754157 male, 9619711 female, 507 third genders, 68551 PWD voters and 100285 service voters. There are 23,213 polling stations on 14460 polling locations from which booths are identified as Critical-249/ Sensitive-719/Hyper Sensitive-509. 12002 polling booths will be covered under web casting on polling day.

The voting would be held on May 19, 2019 from 07.00 AM to 06.00 PM and counting of votes would begin May 23rd, 2019 from 8:00 AM.

- Advertisement -


Transfers, Postings, Promotions


Stay Connected



Punjab News



Health & Fitness

Gadgets & Tech