EC announces Schedule of Bypolls for 4 Punjab Vidhan Sabha Assembly constituencies

Chandigarh, September 21, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

The Election commission of India today announced schedule for bypolls in four Assembly constituencies in Punjab viz Assembly Constituency no. 29 Phagwara, AC 39 Mukerian, AC 68 Dakha and AC 79 Jalalabad.

Disclosing this here, Punjab Chief Electoral Officer Dr. S. Kruna Raju said that notification will be issued in this regard on September 23, 2019 and nomination process would commence on same day, while 30th September will be the last day to file nominations.

The scrutiny of papers will be done on October 1, 2019 and last date for the withdrawal of the nomination Paper is October 3, 2019, he added.

Dr. Raju said polling will be held on October 21, 2019 and the counting of votes as well as result will be declared on October 24, 2019.

He said with the announcement of bye election for Phagwara,Mukerian, Dakha and Jalalabad Assembly Constituency model code of conduct is enforced in areas fallen under Phagwara,Mukerian, Dakha and Jalalabad Assembly Constituencies with immediate effect. The CEO telephonically informed the Deputy commissioners of concerned Districts regarding model code of conduct.

Dr. Raju further said that Election Commission of India (ECI) had fixed an expenditure limit to the tune of Rs. 28 lakhs for the candidate contesting the Assembly election.

Share News / Article

YP Headlines