Dakha By-election – Who is leading, who is trailing – LATEST

Ludhiana, October 24, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

Manpreet Ayali of SAD has won the election by a margin of 14676 votes.

Ludhiana, October 24, 2019 (Yes Punjab News)

SAD candidate Manpreet Singh Ayali today won Dakha seat for his party by beating his nearest rival Capt Sandeep Sandhu of the Congress with a margin of 14676 votes.

Ayali polled 66286 votes while Sandhu was restricted to 51610.

Simranjit Singh Bains-led Lok Insaaf Party fared third with 8437 votes while AAP came a poor fourth with only 2792 votes.

Ayali constantly maintained his lead from round one and kept on increasing the margin as the counting concluded after 16 rounds.

Ayali who had lost last election to AAP’s HS Phoolka was pitted against Captain Sandhu, the former political advisor to Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh.

While providing information, District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Ludhiana Pradeep Kumar Agrawal informed that Simrandeep Singh of Apna Punjab Party secured 340 votes, Gurjit Singh of Nationalist Justice Party secured 89 votes, Joginder Singh Vegal of Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) secured 256 votes, while independent candidates Harbans Singh Jalal secured 140, Gurdeep Singh Kahlon 226 votes, Jai Parkash Jain 535 votes and Baldev Singh secured 397 votes. A total of 642 voters chose to press NOTA as their option.

On the completion of counting process, Returning Officer Amrinder Singh Malhi handed over winning certificate to Manpreet Singh Ayali. The District Election Officer thanked all stakeholders for the completion of the Dakha By-election in a peaceful manner.




Share News / Article

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES