AAP gherao Punjab FM’s office for doling out Thermal Plant land to corporate honchos

Bathinda, October 17, 2020 (Yes Punjab News)

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Punjab on Saturday gherao FM Manpreet Singh Badal’s office here for facilitating the demolition of thermal plant dedicated to Guru Nanak Dev on the outskirts of historic Bathinda city and leasing it out hundreds of acres of its land to some corporate houses at Rs 1 per acre.

Hundreds of the party workers, led by MLAs Prof. Baljinder Kaur and Rupinder Kaur Ruby, took out a peaceful protest from the Fire Brigade Chowk to gherao Badal’s office, but were stopped by the police when they tried to cross the barricades put up by the police, They were not allowed to march to Finance Minister’s office beyond the barricades, prompting the AAP leadership and workers to stage a dharna and amid slogans raised against the Congress government and the Finance Minister.

The AAP protest continued till the Bathinda Tehsildar reached the spot to receive the memorandum to be given to the Governor of Punjab.

On the occasion Prof Baljinder Kaur said that earlier Sukhbir Singh Badal had forced the shutdown of Guru Nanak Dev Thermal Plant, a jewel of the Malwa region, to appease some patronised private thermal plant magnates, adding now Manpreet Singh Badal had, contrary to his promise to protect the historic thermal plant, by demolishing this heritage project and doling out its land worth about Rs 4,000 crore to corporators for peanuts.

Prof. Baljinder Kaur said that FM Manpreet Badal, along with Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, had left Sukhbir Singh Badal far behind in promoting land mafia in the state.

Speaking on the occasion, Rupinder Kaur Ruby said that had the government in the saddle been a tad sensitive, the Bathinda Thermal Plant would have been operational till 2031, its one unit running on straw, throwing opportunities of additional income of Rs.3000 per acre to the farmers in the area thus putting an end to the straw burning in the Malwa region.

Others who were present on the occasion, included local and state leaders, Anil Thakur, Amardeep Singh Rajan, Advocate Gurlal Singh, Mahinder Singh Phulomithi, Baljinder Kaur Tungwali, Jatinder Singh Bhalla, Master Jagsir Singh, Deepak Goel, Nachhatar Singh Maur, Chhinderpal Mor, Vikram Lovely, Baljit Bali, Master Sukhdeep Singh, Balwinder Ballo, Gurmeet Singh Ramgarhia, Raghveer Singh, Ramphal, Harjinder Kaur, Sandeep Singh, Gayatri, Bittu Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Dr. Rajveer Talwandi, Gurdas Singh.

Click here to Like us on Facebook

Yes Punjab - Top Stories