Friday, October 7, 2022



61% voting in Punjab bypolls

Chandigarh, Oct 21, 2019-

A turnout of 61 per cent was registered on Monday in the by-elections to the four Assembly seats in the Congress-ruled Punjab.

“The election to the four Assembly constituencies ended peacefully. The poll percentage of 61 per cent would increase,” an electoral officer told.

The Jalalabad seat saw the highest poll percentage of 70 per cent, followed by Dhaka (64), Mukerian (57.28) and Phagwara (49.96 per cent).

Chief Minister Amarinder Singh had appealed to the voters to judiciously exercise their most important democratic right and fulfil their duty by exercising their franchise.

The main contest is between the Congress and the Akali Dal-BJP alliance.

Besides, the AAP, the BSP and the Lok Insaaf Party have also fielded their candidates.

As many as 7.68 lakh voters in all four assembly segments decided the fate of 33 candidates.

The by-election to the Jalalabad seat was necessitated because of former Deputy Chief Minister and Akali Dal President Sukhbir Singh Badal quitting the seat.

The Dakha seat was vacated by the AAP’s H.S. Phoolka and Phagwara by the BJP’s Som Parkash.

Mukerian is going to the polls as sitting MLA Rajnish Babbi of the Congress died.

The Congress has fielded former state youth chief Raminder Awla from Jalalabad, Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal from Phagwara, Indu Bala from Mukerian and Sandeep Singh Sandhu from Dakha.

BJP ally Akali Dal has fielded Manpreet Singh Ayali from Dakha and Raj Singh Dibbipura from Jalalabad.

The BJP has fielded Rajesh Bagga from Phagwara and Jangi Lal Mahajan from Mukerian.

The votes will be counted on October 24.

The Congress has 78 legislators in the 117-member House.  (Agency)

- Advertisement -

Yes Punjab - TOP STORIES

Punjab News

Sikh News

Transfers, Postings, Promotions

- Advertisement -spot_img

Stay Connected






First elected Congress prez in 22 years faces Himalayan challenge – by Deepika Bhan

The question -- Is India's grand old party in its last stage? -- has been repeatedly raised in the past few years, and the...

Popular Front of India – India’s internal insurgency – by Arshia Malik

The National Investigation Agency (NIA) -- which was probing over 100 (Popular Front of India (PFI) members in connection with various cases -- arrested...

India’s rise as a global counsel at Samarkand summit – by DC Pathak

The post-Cold War world - no more divided in rival camps created by two competing superpowers confronting each other for military and ideological reasons...


Health & Fitness

Over 80% of Indians suffers from micronutrient deficiencies: Report

New Delhi, Oct 4 (Agency) More than 80 per cent of the Indian population suffer from micronutrient deficiencies, contributing to compromised immunity, a report said on Tuesday. According to a consensus by the Consumer Health Division of Bayer, more than two billion people suffer from MiND (micronutrient deficiencies) globally, with nearly half living in India. "The doctor's consensus paper has identified...

Gadgets & Tech

error: Content is protected !!