Punjab Elections 2012

Avtar Singh Karimpuri resigns as president of BSP Punjab – Mayawati accepts resignation


H S Bawa
Jalandhar, March 12-
Owning moral responsibility for the dismal performance of Bahujan Samaj Party in the recently concluded Vidhan Sabha Elections in Punjab, its state President Avtar Singh Karimpuri has resigned from his post.
Ms Mayawati, the outgoing Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and National President of BSP has accepted his resignation. This has been conveyed in a press note issued here today by Narinder Kashyap, National General Secretary and Incharge of Punjab affairs.
Karimpuri is a sitting member parliament. He was elected to Rajya Sabha in November 2008. He has been leading BSP in the state since 2003 but has not been able to produce favourable electoral results.
Party has lost four elections under his leadership. BSP could not win even a single seat in all the last four elections. Bahujan Samaj Party  fared badly in 2004 and 2009 Parliament Elections while it could not send a single representative to Punjab Assembly as a result of 2007 Vidhan Sabha Elections and 2012 Vidhan Sabha Elections. This time BSP had fielded candidates in all the 117 assembly segments.
    Some prominent BSP leaders were shown the door or they left during the tenure of Avtar Singh Karimpuri. These include Harbhajan Lakha, Satnam Kainth, Des Raj Dhugga, Mangat Rai Bansal, Shingara Ram Sahungra, Darshan Lal Jethumajara, Avinash Chander, Pawan Tinu and Lal Singh Sulhani etc.
    It is alleged that Avtar Singh Karimpuri ignoring the ground reality and did not favour an alliance in Punjab which has been the cause of the dismal performance of BSP in the state and resulted in the erosion of BSP Cadre.
    Sources say that Mayawati is likely to announce the new President of the party very soon.


TB Banner3 2




© YESPUNJAB.COM |. All rights reserved.