Ajmer Aulakh PunAmritsar, Jan 14, 2014 –

Guru Nanak Dev University (GNDU) would honour Prof Rajmohan Gandhi, an eminent social worker and grandson of Mahatama Gandhi, with Honoris Causa degree at its 40th annual convocation scheduled to be held on March 7.

Prof Ved Parkash, chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi, and Prof Ajmer Singh Aulakh, a prominent Punjabi playwright and theatre director, will also be conferred with Honoris Causa degrees on the occasion, said GNDU vice-chancellor Prof AS Brar.

Brar while addressing the senate meeting on Tuesday said the university would also prepare road map for higher education as desired by the state government.

He said almost all the departments of the university had sufficient UGC grants with the best track record in imparting quality education.

He said in future, Guru Nanak Dev University would also start need-based courses and enhance the number of seats in various courses in demand.
Autonomous status for Khalsa College
The senate also accorded approval to grant autonomous status to Khalsa College, Amritsar, under the UGC Autonomous College Scheme. This would be implemented from academic session 2013-14 to 2018-19.

The department of commerce and business management would also be divided into two departments, i.e. department of commerce and university business school from April this year as approved by the senate. The senate also approved starting of geography and music as subjects in BA-1 and M.Sc mathematics, MA economics at University College, Verka.

Other decisions
M.Com and M.Sc (computer science) courses would be started from the next academic session at University College, Patti, University College, Chungh and Bebe Nanaki University College, Mithra.

The senate also accorded approval to start BBA, BCA (three years), M.Sc mathematics (two years) and MBA (5-year integrated) courses from the next academic session at University College, Jalandhar.

Earlier, the senators also put on record the contribution of members who retired recently and welcomed the new members.

*HT Media Ltd.


TB Banner3 2